Quick n’ Lovely Review: Rimmel Exaggerate Undercover Shadow Primer

Hey everyone,

I had my birthday over the weekend and one of the presents V got me was the Rimmel Exaggerate Undercover Shadow Primer. Both of us are the victims of stupid oily lids, which means our eyeshadow likes to flee the country or crease like your favourite dress that has been stuffed in a suitcase for a holiday. It’s one of my biggest beauty struggles and out of everything I’ve tried, nothing has worked. (Urban Decay Primer Potion worked for a few months and I was in LOVE, then our relationship stepped out of the honey moon phase. We’re currently looking for other partners).

So anywho the lovely V got me this primer to try!

– The Look –
Well, there is nothing all that special about the look. It looks pretty plain and 80’s inspired (which to me seems odd… the fact that somehow 80’s and plain made it into the same packaging), so needless to say I wouldn’t be super interested just by seeing it on the shelf. It just doesn’t look sophisticated or fun, really. The applicator is like a lip gloss wand, so it felt pretty weird putting it on my eyes. I guess I like applying with my fingers.

IMG_9172
– The Smell –
The smell brings me back to when I was younger… it reminds me of the first tube of mascara I got as a kid that was, well targeted to kids. Which is fun for bringing back memories, but not fun if you’ve grown up and want something that you think should work better than kids makeup.

IMG_9174
– Functionality –
I’m just going to come right out and say it — it does not work. My makeup didn’t even stay put for an hour! In fact it may have even been worse than when I don’t use primer and let the natural oil do its thing. Overall very disappointed and not impressed. But I am very glad V got it for me so I could test it out for us and see if we found our holy grail of eye primers.

I’m sure you don’t need the upsides and downsides of this product after that review. However Hailey from Hailey’s Makeup did comment on our Instagram photo saying it worked just as well for her as Urban Decay Primer Potion did, so if you were really looking forward to trying it out, go for it!

To bring some fun back into this place, here are some photos of the other gifts V got me! I felt so spoiled and was SUPER excited. She got me a wee makeup bag that I LOVE! The inside if leopard print, fun! She also got me a Lasting Finish Matte by Kate Moss in 110, so awesome! It is like an orange/red/flamingo pink… hard one to pin point! And finally she put some of her Clinique Cleansing balm in a little container for me to try. LOVE HER!


IMG_9159

IMG_9161

IMG_9160

IMG_9162
Stay lovely,
temp (1)

7 thoughts on “Quick n’ Lovely Review: Rimmel Exaggerate Undercover Shadow Primer

  1. I was so disappointed by this product. I used it 2 times and it just was useless, I then passed it off to my sister and it was the exact same issue for her. Such a shame – the NARS Pro Prime will forever be my favourite, but it is just so pricey! x

    morerebe.com

  2. This eye primer was such a disappointment for me… I’ve found the NARS Pro Prime Smudgeproof Primer to be the very best, which is awful because it is quite pricey. But it actually works! x

    morerebe.com

Leave a COMMENT

