Pretty Lovely Haul – A Shoppers Run

a pretty lovely haulHey Pretty Lovelies!

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend. A little update on me, I recently decided to take part in 100 Happy Days! I think this movement is awesome. I mean what more could you ask for, its a challenge that makes you happy! Wonderful! You can pop over to my personal Instagram here, if you’d like to keep up with my journey with that. Let me know if you are taking part or thinking about taking the plunge.

Now onto things that make us both happy, beauty products! Shoppers is my vice, I swear. It may even be a worse love affair than Lush. (But that love affair I talk about here) For our UK followers, Shoppers Drug Mart is like our version of Boots!

Now onto the goodies.

IMG_9617[1]
IMG_9618[1]
IMG_9621

For some time now I’ve been meaning to try the whole purple shampoo thing. For those of you who are unfamiliar with it, purple shampoo is made for us colour treated blondes who want to keep it light and not coppery. Basically it helps keep that beautiful colour.

Now for me shampoo is either a hit or a SERIOUS miss. I have thin, fine hair that gets oily FAST. So if something is too soothing, I’m practically greasy right away, and if something isn’t soothing enough because I’m colour treated it can look like hay/straw, which must make my hair look seriously appetizing to horses. So I am ALWAYS scared to try a new shampoo. Funny enough I usually have luck with Head and Shoulders. But I wanted to venture out and try something a little more specific to my hair.

John Frieda Sheer BlondeColour Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo and Conditioner
I have to say so far, after only two days of usage mind you, I am LOVING this shampoo and conditioner combo! It’s just the right amount of soothing, it smells nice, it’s great.
The shampoo has a lovely lather, nothing bad to say here!
The conditioner, funny enough doesn’t feel very soothing when you’re putting it in your hair and rinsing it, but my hair comes out feeling manageable and soft to the touch once blown dry!
Would I recommend? YES!

IMG_9619
I am a lip product fanatic. It’s a problem.

Benefit
lollitint
So I’ve been wanting this ever since I first saw it and I finally made the plunge this weekend. I have a serious crush on the packaging. It’s super weird to apply, but I think that’s because I did it straight from the brush to lips. Next time I’m definitely using my fingers for an easier application. It comes out a lot more purple on me than I would have liked but I have no doubt I will rock this wicked colour at some point, especially once the sun starts shining here in Toronto again and I don’t have to wear my freaking parka.
Would I recommend? If you can, try it first to see if its your thing, but YES I would recommend.

RimmelLasting Finish by Kate Moss in 101
I LOVE pink lip colours and after V got me my first Kate lipstick I’ve been dying to add to my collection. 101 is a pretty pale pink colour that I already love rocking. It has decent staying power, except if you haven’t seen your boyfriend all weekend and a hello kiss turns into about fifteen hello kisses. (The colour looks good on his too… haha only kidding, kind of.)
Would I recommend? Yes sir, I would!

IMG_9620
So canned water, “Pffft! Yeah right, like I’d buy CANNED WATER!” Don’t worry, I’ve already happily eaten my words.

VichyThermal Spa Water
So I really wanted La Roche Posay’s Serozinc but thanks to the fact that they are total buttheads and don’t sell it in Canada I am shit out of luck. But I wanted something that was soothing for redness and irritation. So I started looking into canned waters. And this weekend I opted for Vichy’s instead of La Roche Posay Thermal Spa Water because the benefits list was longer and it was just a bit cheaper. I use it during my morning and night skin care routine and I am lovely it. It feels nice and refreshing going on and then it leaves your face feeling warm and lovely! I also notice the redness on my skin goes down after I use it. Plus I put it on my burn (curling iron I hate you) a few days after the event and its made it much less irritated.
Would I recommend? Yes! Its not totally needed but I would say its a lovely treat. If you really love skin care and feeling pampered, get it!

ClarinsGentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner
I’ve just realized, I put this product in the photo even though I didn’t get it during this haul. But why not put in a few words?! Firstly, I like using it. Secondly, I didn’t think I noticed a difference. Until I went to the root of what its meant to do. Have I had dry patches lately, no! Which is huge for me. And I’ve noticed my complexion in certain areas has gotten brighter. I like this version of an exfoliator because its not harsh on my sensitive skin. I jumped on this one because of Caroline Hirons and I think I’ll stay on it.
Would I recommend? Yes, especially if you find grainy exfoliators too rough and if your skin is sensitive. Exfoliating is important!

IMG_9622And last but certainly not least!

VichyRefreshing Cleansing Milk
This has to be the new star of my skincare routine. I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. I would have its babies if I could. It’s geared towards sensitive, normal to combination skin. It feels LOVELY and creamy going on and leaves my face feeling warm and clean. And there is something about the smell that is absolutely wonderful, its soothing, its lovely.
Would I recommend? YES! More than anything else in this post!

Have you gotten anything from your local drugstore lately? What is your favourite skin care product right now?

Stay lovely,
temp (1)

2 thoughts on “Pretty Lovely Haul – A Shoppers Run

Leave a COMMENT

