The Life in Letters Tag

life in letters tag

Hey Pretty Lovelies!

It is time for the usual Monday post, however the lovely Kayla (she is absolutely one of my favourite beauty bloggers out there) from Microscope Beauty has tagged me in her The Life in Letters Tag Post. So hopefully on this wonderful Monday you don’t mind learning about me!

A is for Australia: I traveled to Australia for five months with one of my best friends between High School and University. It was an unreal trip, I really came out of my shell, I have SO many amazing memories. I wish I could go back all the time and see all the wonderful friends I made but it’s seriously expensive and when you go, you better go for a while to make the 24 hour trip worth it!

PicMonkey Collage
B is for Bear: Bear is my cat. He is the most loving, cuddly sucker in the world. I got him from Urban Cat Relief. I had been looking for a cat for a while and stumbled onto his profile. He looked SO cute and so much like my old cat Eeyor that I have to inquire. Turns out he has FIV (Feline Immunodeficiency Virus) so a lot of people backed out of taking him for fear of his sickness. But his foster mom made him sound SO lovely that I had to give this big guy a home. And boy am I glad I did!
PicMonkey Collagebear
C is for Canada: I live in Canada and while it is a mighty fine country, this winter has been hell. The worst one I have ever witnessed. Hi Summer, I’m inviting you to visit FOREVER.

D is for Doritos: This one time I made nachos using Doritos. I recommend it if you are having a cheat day or if you want something seriously unhealthy but SO DELICIOUSLY SINFUL.

E is for Ellen Page: Have you seen her coming out speech. My god. She is an absolute inspiration and I’ve always really loved her acting, shes funny, shes charming, she is SO talented. I love her and am so very proud of her as her fan and as a fellow human being.

PicMonkey Collageellen
F is for Fear: I was re-watching The Princess Diaries the other week (yeah, so what) and there was a wonderful quote that was about fear that I liked a lot. “Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgment that something is more important than fear. The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all.” Fear can be pretty crippling and as someone who has has experience in the anxiety department, this quote is a nice motivation for those of us struggling to embrace courage.

G is for Garden: I so desperately want to have a garden when I have my own place (I mean without a house full of roommates). Even if I am in an apartment next year I at least want to grow my own herbs in the window. My dad got really into gardening about 15 years ago and I LOVE how peaceful his backyard is. You can do so much with your outdoor space.

H is for Harry Potter: I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan. I even have the light charm Lumos tattooed on the inside of my wrist. It is there to remind me to create my own light and to always encourage imagination and my inner child.

PicMonkey Collagehp

I is for Inspiration: I find I am constantly being inspired my movies, tv shows, human beings, stories, blogs, quotes, photos. If you ask the universe to be inspired whether it is to be inspired to believe in the human race, or love, or kindess or creativity. If you really ask, you’ll be inspired.

J is for Just Keep Swimming: I think we’ve all had those days where we really don’t want to deal, or we want to stay in bed and not face the day. But sometimes all you have to do it just keep stepping forward, just keep swimming forward and it WILL get better. It always does. One thing I’ve always noticed about life is that is will always work out, no matter what has happened in my life — it has always worked out. And I think it does that because I believe in it so much. I’m still here, I’m still alive and I am so very grateful for that.

PicMonkey Collagekeepswimming

K is for Kindness: Just a reminder to be kind. We all have our stuff. And if someone is mean to you, it has nothing to do with you (unless you were a prick) but it has everything to do with them and how they decide to react and treat you. So be mindful of every situation you are in and understand that you influence people and more importantly you influence your future self.

L is for Love: How unoriginal right? Well not if I’m talking about self-love. We have a serious lack of self-love in todays society. Whether it be because of crushing standards within beauty and body image or because we are encouraged to find and love someone else with our whole selves. Well let me tell you, as someone who is completely in love and fully committed to someone else, there is absolutely room for self-love. In fact I don’t think I would love Josh as much as I do if I didn’t love and invest in my relationship with myself first. We should be taught to encourage self-love, to encourage growing up treating and investing in ourselves and THEN finding someone else to love and cherish if we’d like.

SELFLOVE

M is for My Mad Fat Diary: My absolute FAVOURITE show right now. It is a UK based show and if you haven’t seen it, GET ON IT! It is SO real, it deals with issues most if not all of us have been through and it is funny as hell. Such a charming and hard hitting show. I seriously recommend for your next watching binge.
mymadfat

N is for Nico Mirallegro: Nico is currently one of my absolute favourite actors, he is incredibly talented and very versatile. He also just happens to be my biggest ‘celebrity’ crush right now. You can watch him in the UK shows My Mad Fat Dairy, The Village or Upstairs Downstairs. Swoon.

PicMonkey Collagenico

O is for Orgasmic: Have you ever had a food orgasm? One where you close your eyes and literally moan because that delicious edible thing you just put in your mouth is an explosion of pure flavor and joy? My favourite restaurant is Terroni (so much so that I went to the LA location when I was in California) because they have the best dish I’ve ever tasted. Spaghetti al Limone. OH MAN. This would ABSOLUTELY be my last meal if I had any say about it.

PicMonkey Collageterroni

P is for Pools: I seriously miss swimming in friends pools growing up. It is SO fun and seriously great for your health… but going to the pool at the gym weirds me out because I always been like I’m in the way. So I don’t swim anymore, which is sad. Unless I’m at the lake or on vacation by the ocean, which is always a treat!

Q is for Quality: As a recent Beauty blogger I find myself really trying to make sure the quality of our blog is great. You know what they always say quality over quantity! Which is why I generally like to or want to support local stores, businesses and farms over chains and corporations. Things aren’t built to last anymore and its sad.

R is for Relaxation: Hi there, I’m an introvert. Which generally means I get pretty damn tired and stressed when I haven’t had enough downtime or me time. It took me many years to realize that this isn’t a bad thing. I am who I am and if I need and want to relax, dammit I will!

Nature_Beach_Relax_034690_

S is for Seizures Palace: Seizures Palace is my boyfriend Josh’s electronic music project. I always love hearing his new tracks… it helps that they are absolutely badass. I’ve watched (or listened) him grow so much even just in the year that we’ve been together. Feel free to check out his Sound Cloud here.

T is for Tori: Tori is my actual legal name, not Victoria. My name has been quite the subject or curiosity over the years, people insist its not my real name and they also insist that I spell my name wrong. Silly people. I was named after a Soap Opera character… which is so funny because Kayla, the lovely lady who tagged me was ALSO named after a Soap Opera character. Love it!

U is for Understanding: Whenever there is a conflict or something of the sort I tend to try and understand where every person is coming from. It makes it easier to make rational choices and move forward. But sometimes its not that easy haha.

V is for Vasanti: Vasanti is a Canadian cosmetic brand that I am really liking so far! I have a cream blush by them that I love, an eyeshadow duo that is to die for and a coloured balm that makes my lips so oh so kissable. Check them out if you’re ever visiting Canada!

PicMonkey Collagevasanti

W is for Wine: I love me some red wine. Sometimes you just can’t beat coming home from a long day of working to pour yourself a glass and make dinner and relax. That or red wine with a bath, love it!

X is for Xavier: Yes I mean Dr. Xavier from X-Men. He is a super cool and inspiring character that encourages people to experience who they are and use it to their strengths, the dude puts out a good message!

Y is for YSL: I am currently in love with the YSL Glossy Stains, they are brilliant and make your lips look absolutely freaking amazing! If you don’t own one yet and you are a lip gloss fanatic, I recommend, but save up and make sure you look into a shade you’ll love!

Z is for Zero: Did you ever see the whole One Tree Hill/ Sophia Bush Zero is not a size thing? As wonderful and inspiring as this is I need to say something — and that is that zero is most certainly a size, just as four is and eight is and ten is and fourteen is. We all have different sizes and instead of saying “big is beautiful — zero isn’t a size” or “Only dogs date bones aka skinny girls” or “Look how fat she is” Why don’t we all take a second to realize no matter our size we all need support to feel at our most beautiful. So encourage being healthy and having a healthy level of self-esteem, no matter your size. Every single person has insecurities, lets try and change that!

PicMonkey Collagezero
I tag the following people to do this tag! I look forward to reading everyone’s responses and PLEASE feel free to do the tag and send me your blog link so I can check it out!

Carly from The Cupid Bow
Nyaomi from Miss Wright
Charli from Charlotte Rose
Hayley from Hay Sparkle
Kirstie from A Yellow Brick Blog
Caitlin from Blogging Through The Mirror

Stay lovely!
temp (1)

10 thoughts on “The Life in Letters Tag

  1. Pingback: Self-Love Sunday: The Self-Love Tag |

Leave a COMMENT

