V’s ASSEMBLAGE: Winterlicious Lippies

Today I was walking home from work, in the sunshine and getting a bit steamed up in my thick knit scarf and winter coat – and I thought to myself that winter is almost gone (yay!), so I better hurry up and post about my favourite dark lippies!

IMG_20140310_203810.jpg

There’s something about a sultry, deep plum/berry lipstick. I find that these shades compliment my dark hair/eyes. (Whereas I look quite silly in more pink tones!)

So let’s get to it! I’ve picked four to compare and fill you in on why I reach for them from my collection.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Giorgio Armani – Rouge Ecstasy 510 Dolci
DIOR Diorific Collection (Golden Winter) – 042 Winter
RIMMEL – Long Lasting Finish Lipstick by Kate Moss 107
MAC – Diva

girgio

– The Look – 

ARMANI

This lipstick is the lightest of my berry collection, with a slight pink tint versus a more purple undertone. It has a sheer finish that required some building to get a strong colour. 

DIOR

At first this lippy looks matte, but has a sheen to it in direct light. The finish has a more metallic look, which makes the colour so unique. Brass-y Berry is how I like to describe it! 

RIMMEL

Straight up red wine berry. Wonder matte finish that has great pigmentation.

MAC

The deepest of my collection, this lipstick makes me feel like I’m back in the 90s and should be in a teenage angst movie – and I love it. Though it has a matte finish, it still looks creamy without any drying. 

dior

– The Feel – 

ARMANI

The sheerness of this lipstick makes it glide on easily (though needs to be built up for a stronger colour payoff) and very comfortable to wear. You get the lusious look of a lip gloss without the sticky feeling.

DIOR

Comfortable, applies easily with good colour payoff.

RIMMEL

Glides on well, but does start to feel dried out after an hour or so for me, personally…but the colour is worth it! (and the price!)

MAC

Best feeling of the four – and who would think with a matte finish! Best pigmentation/lasting power/colour/everything.

rimmel.jpg

– The Functionality – 

ARMANI

The only one of the four that I would be willing to wear to work/in a more professional setting. The sheerness is beautiful and comfortable to wear all day (but absolutely would require some reapplying). 

DIOR

Such a different colour – I’ve never seen one the same. Good lipstick, but I don’t grab it as often as I wish I did (because of the price)

RIMMEL

I love this lipstick, the colour is so sexy…but because of the drying factor I have to be more careful about when i decide to wear it. 

MAC

Best option for me (other than 9-5). Lasts all day with no need for reapplication (especially when paired with a liner) and I find to be the most flattering colour for my skin and makes my teeth look the so white! Can’t get better than that. 

diva.jpg

– The Downsides – 

Only downsides would be the drying of the RIMMEL 107, and the requirement of often reapplication of Armani, though both of these issues are some that I can still overlook easily for their benefits (since I still reach for them often enough to not regret my purchases).

end pic

– Final Recommendation – 

The winner for me is MAC DIVA. I think this will always be my go to dark berry lipstick. I would still recommend trying any if you get the chance to – as they could work for you for many other reasons than me!

What’s your favourite Winterlicious Lipstick?

xo

temp

4 thoughts on “V’s ASSEMBLAGE: Winterlicious Lippies

Leave a COMMENT

