Pretty Great “Ingredients” Series

pretty great ingredients

Hey Pretty Lovelies!

You may have seen the Pretty Bad Ingredients post which focused on educating our readers on how important reading your labels is! Now on the flip side I’m giving you some ingredients, etc that are good for you! So here are a few things you want to look for when shopping for both skincare and beauty!

1. pH Correct
Did you know that our skin is actually slightly acidic? It sits at a 5.5 on the pH scale. And the reason its slightly acidic is to ward off pollutants, free radicles, environment, etc. So its seriously important to be using a product that is pH correct. When you use a product that isn’t pH correct it strips your acid mantle and can cause problem skin like dry skin, oily skin, acne, break-outs, etc. We aren’t suppose to have problem skin! When I switched to a pH correct product my skin totally changed, I no longer have dry skin, and my skin has a new glow. I only get break-outs when I eat unhealthy or sometimes when its that time of the month.

2. Vegan
I’m pretty sure all of us here LOVE animals, and if you don’t — shame on you! They’re adorable and fluffy and the best. It is so easy for us to turn a blind eye to skincare and cosmetics companies that test on animals. But for me once I found all vegan skincare and cosmetics it was a no brainer, why would I support companies that have shitty morals? Yes I write for a beauty blog and yes I will review and talk about products from companies that do test on animals and that do have animal by-products but on a day to day basis I’m all about vegan. I think from now on I’ll make a note on each post about whether a product is cruelty-free or not.

3. Dermatologist TESTED
Often we’ll see dermatologist recommended on a product. This means that the dermatologist was paid for by the company to recommend it, regardless of whether they believe in or like the product or not. But when you see dermatologist tested you know its a product that has been responsibly tested for you. Tested usually means that whatever the product says it does, it actually does!

Feel free to ask any questions if you have any! Do you have any ingredients, etc that you look for in your products?

Stay lovely,
temp (1)

One thought on “Pretty Great “Ingredients” Series

  1. Pingback: My Cold Weather Essentials – Body | Pretty Lovely Girls

Leave a COMMENT

